A Final Post for Eloise

Beloved Eloise crossed the Rainbow Bridge at the end of last year. I am grateful for the 14+ years we shared together. I miss seeing that little face every day, and even her snoring every night… If you are familiar with this blog, you know that Eloise was an active, and usually willing participant, in my 365 days of pugs project. She tolerated being wrapped in bubble wrap, not-so-happily wore pink balloons as water wings (I think it was the bath that made it a less-than-happy experience for her, not the balloons themselves), allowed me to draw little pug faces (non-toxic markers, of course), and even let me wrap her in Christmas lights. All of this was documented here in 2012. Eloise was in front of the camera, and I was behind; we both preferred it that way. This photo, taken by Lori Berkowitz about a year ago, is one of a few pictures of the two of us and one I will always cherish.

Eloise and me

About puglife

Eloise, a very spoiled New York pug, and I have been a team for over twelve years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A Final Post for Eloise

  1. Elephant says:

    Sorry for you big loss. Eloise seems a loving dog willing to make you happy. Beautiful. Nice. Sad. Sorry.
    Elephant

  2. That’s a beautiful photo of you both. You can see the love on both your faces. I am so sorry for your loss. Sending you peace and comfort.

  3. Ellen says:

    That is a great photo! RIP Eloise …

    Love Zoe, Peyton, Webster, Liberty & Whitney

  4. Isabelle Seggerman says:

    THE OWNER, AND ELOISE ARE BOTH LOVELY. WHAT A FOND FAREWELL.

  5. shinyinlove says:

    I am so so sorry. I understand how very hard it is to lose such a wonderful creature that holds your heart forever. I still think often of by sweet pug whom I lost just over a year ago. They make such a wonderful impact on our lives.

    • puglife says:

      Thank you, shinyinlove. I’m so sorry for your loss, too. It is amazing how they touch our lives so – and the lives of those around us.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  6. Rebecca Ng says:

    Im so saddened by Eloise’s departure, i can’t imagine the difficult time you are going through. I used to have a pug myself, my beloved Petunia, and she was the cheerfullest, heart warming, happiest ball of love as i remember Eloise. The couple of times i got to interact with her at the Pharmacy, she would always come to me, wagging her tail as if begging for a scratch behind her ear or a pat on her lap. I carry her picture with me (the only one i managed to take since she was moving too much lol) and she looks loved and happy as she could be. She is now an angel next to my Petunia, heaven has now two flowers that would run happily together. A big hug for you and your family,
    Rebecca
    (Turtle Bay Chemists employee)

    • puglife says:

      Thanks so much for your note, Rebecca. Eloise loved visiting with you! I think Petunia, Eloise, and all of the other pugs have their own corner in heaven. :)

  7. pugofmyheart says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. I enjoyed watching Eloise take part in your year-long pug project. She certainly was a trouper. The photo of the two of you is priceless.

    Best,
    Catherine

  8. Kamla says:

    All of us are so sorry for your loss IO.

  9. Noah says:

    My heart goes out to you. So sorry to hear of your loss.

  10. I am so sorry-Eloise clearly brought great joy to your life-and what a wonderful record you have of the both of you-she will never be far away.

  11. I lost my darling Pug last year, my heart goes out to you. Even when they are so old it still feels like they are taken too soon. What a darling sweet girl she was and this photo is just beautiful. My Pug went around the same time as yours and around the same age as well. Sending you much love.
    Kim

    • puglife says:

      Thanks for your note. I’m sorry for your loss, Kim. Love to you as well.

      • kimkarat says:

        I wanted to tell you I adopted/rescued a Pug from a breeder and it’s lovely to have her. Nobody can replace my darling Pugsley but Grace needed to be rescued so it’s ok to have gone in again a little too soon. I think of you often and really love your blog, I will add it to my links.

      • puglife says:

        Thank you for letting me know, Kim. Grace is adorable. I’m looking for a new one and haven’t had luck with rescues yet, so have been talking with breeders. I have wondered what it will feel like to have another one and when is too soon, but it seems like fate is playing a hand there. Best to you and Grace. :)

      • shinyinlove says:

        Kim, that’s just what I did. I rescued a little girl pug in very very ad shape and she was the perfect grieving buddy. We healed together. She from her trama and my from the loss of my old sweet pug. I have since rehomed her to a wonderful family who is very happy to have such a sweet lady. Someday inthe future I will be ready to give my heart to another pug. Although I don’t know whe that will be, I do know I would rescue another in a heartbeat. It was very healing for me.

Leave a Reply

